He made the slam dunk. And there aren’t any pictures, as they are saying, within the scorecard, however a five-second video clip struck a chord.
Identical to right here:
And right here:
What is that this?
Technically, that is simple! It was a 3-foot putt by 2009 US Open winner Lucas Glover throughout Thursday’s first spherical of the match. American Categorical Competitors. However as you may see – maybe – there’s extra. Or is it much less? On the putt, Glover retrieved his blade once more with a fast wrist flip, then moved it ahead with one other flip, and his ball rolled in.
Though now you could have extra questions…
Has Lucas Glover been put this fashion earlier than?
sure, Most notably in final 12 months’s Honda Basicbecause it was recorded and shared on-line very similar to this week’s state of affairs, and you’ll check out that beneath.
Is it authorized?
On Hit Honda, we dug into this. Briefly, sure, and Here is what we wrote:
Underneath Rule 10.1you may see “Stroke” outlined as follows:
The stroke is made by putting considerably with the ball with the top of the membership. The first problem is to direct and management the motion of your entire membership by swinging the membership freely with out clamping it.
Within the related language underneath 10.1a/1the foundations specify three strategies that don’t represent a “hit”:
– A participant punches a brief putt by hitting the ball with the underside of the membership head, utilizing a movement much like that used to strike a ball in billiards or shuffleboard. Transfer the ball like this push.
– the participant strikes the membership alongside the floor of the earth and pulls it in the direction of it. Shifting the ball on this means is a scratch.
– The participant slides a racket underneath the ball and really near the ball. Then the participant lifts and strikes the ball utilizing a ahead and up movement. Shifting the ball like this can be a scoop.
Which brings us again to Glover. After dropping Honda, a small group of commentators on social media speculated that the hit was extra of a push, which ought to have constituted a one-shot penalty. And though it might appear to be this to the bare eye, if you decelerate the video, you may see the smallest background oscillations. You may as well see Glover’s arms transferring (barely), implying that this was a official stroke by the foundations of golf, half and sq..
It is a step yip. Golf Digest Luke Kerr-Dineen expertly notes which Glover has put “historically” on at the least two different events on American Categorical Thursdays, and the query requested was an anomaly. Though it was at the least underneath Some management. In spite of everything, there was this one from Glover:
After all, it wasn’t all the time like that. Glover was a world class participant. Apart from successful the Open Championship, he additionally received the 2005 Funai Basic and the 2011 Wells Fargo Championship. However then golf obtained into his head, as a result of that is what golf does.
However Glover labored at it, like Properly described by Michael Bamberger right here. And Glover received once more, in 2021 on the John Deere Basic.
Nevertheless, there’s a quote in Bamberger’s article, that maybe sums up our query higher. It comes from Glover’s agent, Mac Barnhardt.
“You may’t heal from springs—everybody has them. However you may cut back them.”
And on Thursday, Glover hit the ball.