How to set messages to delete automatically on iPhone or iPad

How to set messages to delete automatically on iOS

Do you want all of your messages to automatically delete themselves after a specified period of time from your iPhone or iPad? You can configure the Message History setting that will allow automatic removal of message conversations after a specified period of time.

This automatic message deletion setting is probably very useful as a storage saving mechanism and shouldn’t really be considered a privacy setting for several reasons, and it has some obvious downsides as well, especially since you are likely to lose some great memories and conversations forever, chat texts, photos and videos exchanged between you and anyone Another you communicate with.

If removing Messages and their media conversations from iOS sounds appealing to you, here’s how to set up the auto-delete feature on your iPhone or iPad:

How to automatically delete messages from iPhone or iPad after a specified period of time

Warning: Even adjusting this setting can permanently delete messages from your iPhone or iPad, so if you’re not quite sure you want to use automatic removal, don’t adjust these settings. Be sure to Backup your iOS device before going any further.

  1. Open the Settings app in iOS
  2. Go to Messages then locate Message History and tap on Keep Messages
  3. How to set up automatic deletion of messages on iOS

  4. Choose the Message History setting you want to use:
  • Forever – Messages do not delete themselves automatically (recommended for most users)
  • 30 days – All messages will be deleted after 30 days
  • 1 year – Messages will be deleted if they are more than a year old

How to automatically delete messages on iPhone or iPad

  • Exit settings as usual
  • Sent and Received Messages will now stick to your chosen history setting, and if you choose anything other than “Forever” it will delete the messages themselves based on the selected timeline.

    While this setting can be considered vaguely for privacy and security purposes, it’s best not to look at it that way (much like Using Invisible Ink Messages on iPhone or iPad Fun but doesn’t really add to security). Instead, it is better to consider this feature as a potential way to reduce the device storage space consumed by the Messages app.

    It is important to note that this setting only applies to Your iMessage client Not the other person(s) you are communicating with. In other words, if you delete your messages automatically after a period of time, they may not be deleted, so the message may go on forever from its end but be removed from your message. If you want to have more privacy and the possibility of invisibility of real messages that apply to all parties in the conversation, Signal offers a great solution and you might like it Use Signal’s hidden messages feature Rather because it applies to the same conversation regardless of which party sets the invisibility configuration.

    Personally, I think keeping all messages and chat texts forever is a good idea and this should be the chosen setting for iMessage, not only because it can be interesting and interesting to review long-time conversations (and sometimes necessary for various reasons, business or personal), but also Because it preserves memories such as photos and videos that are exchanged between people. If you are considering enabling this setting to reduce the storage usage that the Messages app consumes, you can also consider selectively Choosing the automatic removal of video messages in iOS Messages Alternatively, since video files tend to take up the most space – but then again, you might find yourself wishing you could access a video or photo someone sent you a year ago, and that wouldn’t be possible if you enabled these features .

    Ultimately, this can be a desirable feature for some messaging app users, but if your real goal is to have a secure messaging platform that doesn’t have any trace of conversations, then using Signal is probably a better solution for that, that way you can keep your account at the same time . iMessages about too.

    Remember, you can always individually Delete Message Conversations from iPhone or iPad If you need or want it, and you can Remove message texts from your Mac too If necessary. But again, the remove method is only local, so the data will not be removed from the other person(s) in the conversation.

    Leave a Comment